‚Humans of New York – Stories‘ von Brandon Stanton

Noch ein Last-Minute Weihnachtsgeschenke Tip………
Another tip for a Last-minute Christmas present…..

Bildquelle: amazon

2010 startete der Fotograf Brandon Stanton einen Fotoblog mit dem Namen Humans of New York. Er wollte eine Art Bildband über die Einwohner von New York schaffen. Stanton spricht seitdem Leute auf der Straße an, fragt, ob er sie fotografieren darf, stellt ihnen Fragen. Manchmal kommen dabei nur wenige Sätze heraus, manchmal erzählen ihm die Menschen ihr halbes Leben. Es geht um Liebe, um Zwischenmenschliches, den Krieg, Freundschaften, fast immer um sehr persönliche Dinge. Die Namen seiner Protagonisten lässt Stanton weg. Inzwischen folgen ihm mehr als 15 Millionen Menschen in den sozialen Netzwerken. In diesem Buch stellt er die Bilder und Geschichten der Menschen vor, abwechslungsreich und interessant, manchmal herzerwärmend oder erschreckend……

In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project -to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the accompanying interviews became the blog Humans of New York. His audience steadily grew from a few hundred followers to, at present count, over fifteen million people.
Humans of new York is the result of these five years storytelling on the streets of New York. During this time the Photographer Brandon Staton has stopped, photographed and interviewed more than ten thousand strangers, eventually sharing their stories on his blog.

On his blog he said: „I thought it would be really cool to create an exhaustive catalogue of New York City’s inhabitants, so I set out to photograph 10,000 New Yorkers and plot their photos on a map. I worked for several months with this goal in mind, but somewhere along the way, HONY began to take on a much different character. I started collecting quotes and short stories from the people I met, and began including these snippets alongside the photographs. Taken together, these portraits and captions became the subject of a vibrant blog. With over eight million followers on social media, HONY now provides a worldwide audience with daily glimpses into the lives of strangers in New York City.“


Alle Bilder und das Video sind von der offiziellen Blogseite: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/archive

You can find the pictures, the vid and much more on the official Blog: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/archive

“I’ve been in America since January. But it won’t feel like home until I can get my mom here. For me, home is my mom. It was just the two of us in Panama. We did everything together. The day that I left was a terrible day. We slept together in the same bed that night. We cried in the house, cried in the car, and cried at the airport. I stood at the entrance of airport security for an hour, because we kept waving at each other through the window. My goal is to bring her here. I found a job on the Monster website. I knock on doors for Verizon. I’m supposed to knock on 120 doors a day. It has really been helping me with my English. If I make five sales in a week, I will have my own team. Then if my team does well, then I can be a manager with my own office. If I have my own office, then maybe I can bring my mom to America.”
Source: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

🙂

“I found myself in my forties and I’d never had children. And one night I was watching a show on television, and it was talking about how many older children are in foster care, and I decided it was something I should do. I work now as a counselor who advises families considering older adoptions. So many foster children get returned to the system when they hit their teenage years because the parents have unrealistic expectations. People expect foster children to be grateful and well behaved and respectful. But many of these children have been traumatized, abandoned, and hurt. They are going to push your buttons just like any other teenager, and they are going to force you to deal with your own issues. It requires a lot of patience to give them the time, support, and space to process their life.”
Source: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

😎

“Every month we had to go to Baghdad to get my son’s eyes treated. When we went for his last appointment, the hospital was very crowded so we decided to go back to the hotel and wait. We walked out into the street and waited for a taxi. A car pulled up and stopped. We thought it was the police. Two men with guns jumped out and asked for our ID cards, then they pushed us into the car. After a few hundred meters, my wife and I were tossed into the street. But they kept my son.
After they took our son, my wife was so weak that she couldn’t get out of bed. For days I walked around Baghdad like a crazy man. I could not sleep. I walked from early in the morning to late at night. I thought maybe I’d recognize the car if I saw it again. Every day I picked a new neighborhood. I kept my phone in my hand hoping that someone would call. Every few seconds I’d check the screen. Soon I lost hope. I was sure that I’d lost my son. Then after one week an envelope came to the house with a phone number inside. I called the number and a man told me that he had my son. He said he wanted a large amount of money. He said if I called the police, my son would die. It took me twenty days to get the money together. I sold the house. I borrowed money from relatives. Days would pass between phone calls. I kept begging for more time. They kept changing SIM cards so I couldn’t call back. When I finally got the money, I told them I was ready to meet, but I demanded to speak to my son. I told them: ‘Please, I need to hear his voice. I need to hear his voice.’ Then suddenly I heard my son’s voice on the phone. He sounded very scared. He said: ‘Dad?’ Then the phone was disconnected.
They told me to meet them at a certain address with the money. It was an old abandoned house. They told me to wait for a silver car to come, and to throw the money inside. After a few minutes a car came. I threw the money inside and it drove off. Soon another car pulled up, the door opened, and my son was thrown out. I didn’t believe it was my son. It was like I was born again. I picked him up and I started running and I didn’t stop until I reached a place full of people. Both of us cried as I ran.” (Hegyeshalom, Hungary)
Source: here, here and here
🙂

“I used to self-harm. He was literally the first person who ever sat me down and told me that I didn’t deserve to be in pain all the time.”
Source: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

Schönes Buch, mit sehr interessanten Geschichten und Fotos!
Very interesting book!

Ich hoffe, Ihr habt eine entspannte letzte Adventswoche!!!

Offizielle Seite: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

Bei facebook: https://www.facebook.com/humansofnewyork/
Auf twitter: https://twitter.com/humansofny

Das Buch kann man bspw. bei amazon bestellen: http://www.amazon.de/Humans-New-York-Brandon-Stanton/

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Bücher, Fotographien, Fotos, Kunst, Städte abgelegt und mit , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

7 Antworten zu ‚Humans of New York – Stories‘ von Brandon Stanton

  1. Esther schreibt:

    Das hört sich total gut an! Danke!

    Gefällt mir

  2. Guylty schreibt:

    Schönes Projekt – und alle Achtung, er macht das echt super, wie er an die Leute rangeht.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  3. (Kathleen)Aisha schreibt:

    amazing, touching, omg these made me cry… very moving!

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

