Flüchtlingshilfe konkret – concrete refugee aid

Servetus made a translation, now you can find the english version below and in her comments! Many thanks for your help Servetus!!! ❤ Du bist ein Schatz!!

Letzte Woche, 3 Tage vor Weihnachten……

21. Dezember 2015
In unseren geruhsamen Ortsteil werden morgen in ein altes Bürogebäude Flüchtlinge einziehen. Es sollten ca. 160 Personen kommen, Familien mit Kindern die bisher in Großraumbüros mit bis zu 16 Personen pro Zimmer oder in Turnhallen gelebt haben. Manche sind schon einige Monate in unserem Ort, manche erst seit kurzem. Ziel ist es, den Familien mit Kindern einen abgeschlossenen Wohnraum zu geben wo sie ein bisschen Privatsphäre haben.

Diese Neuigkeiten machen bei uns schon lange die Runde und da ich zur Zeit ja noch auf Jobsuche bin, Zeit zur Verfügung habe, melde ich mich als Freiwillige um ehrenamtlich irgendwie helfen zu können.
Nachdem sich die Übergabe des Hauses an die Stadt immer wieder verzögert hat, ursprünglich sollten sie am 6. Dezember einziehen, da die umfangreichen Sanitär- und Kücheninstallationen etc. nicht fertig geworden sind, ist das Haus heute von der Stadt übernommen worden. Heute! Morgen sollen die Familien einziehen.

Dies bedeutet, dass man heute damit beginnen konnte, die Zimmer zu säubern und zu möblieren. Freiwillige wurden gesucht und so stand ich heute morgen um 9 Uhr mit einer Freundin vor Ort um meine Hilfe anzubieten. 160 Stockbetten sind aufzubauen, je ein Kühlschrank pro Zimmer auszupacken, einen abschließbaren Stahlschrank, 4 Stühle und einen Tisch zusammenzuschrauben – pro Zimmer. Und damit sind die recht kleinen Zimmer von 15-20 manchmal 25 qm dann auch voll. Eine schier unlösbare Aufgabe mit der handvoll Leute.
Die neuen Möbel sind qualitativ fragwürdig, IKEA ist luxus dagegen….. 😦
Bei einigen Stühlen haben wir es nicht geschafft, die Polster anzubringen da die Bohrungen nicht gepasst haben. Die Furnierplatten der Tische sind nach dem Auspacken manchmal schon angeschlagen. „Die waren noch irgendwo auf Lager“ bekomme ich als Info als ich vorsichtig nachfrage woher sie stammen.  Später kommen zum Glück noch standfestere Tische und Stühle die nicht aufgebaut werden müssen 🙂

In der Gemeinschaftsküche, es gibt pro Etage mit ca. 100 Menschen 3 Küchen, stehen 4 Herde mit Kochplatten und 4 Spülen. Sonst nichts. Auf meine Frage wo die Menschen denn ihr Geschirr deponieren sollen bekam ich die Antwort: in den Zimmern auf dem Boden. In dem einen Stahlschrank, der in den Zimmern steht und für Wertsachen bestimmt ist, ist dafür bestimmt kein Platz mehr vorhanden. Einen Kleiderschrank gibt es nicht.
Die 2 Gemeinschaftstische mit je 2 Bänken die wir für die Küche aufgebaut haben bestehen aus Spanplatte mit Furnier. Auch hier hat die Tischplatte nicht auf die vorgebohrten Holzdübel gepasst. Die kleinen Fläschchen mit dem Leim sind uns beim Drücken geplatzt. Mein persönlicher Eindruck, meine Kinder hätten diese Tische und Stühle nach 4 Wochen zu dem Sperrholz verarbeitet das sie tatsächlich sind. Es soll auch noch große Küchenarbeitsplatten geben, die Füsse sind da, die Arbeitsplatten aber leider nicht aufzufinden 😦

Es wird einen Kinderspielraum geben wo die Kinder unter Aufsicht spielen können. Mit Aufsicht, klar und verständlich, denn Kinder die NICHTS haben nehmen Spielsachen gerne mit. Damit die Spielsachen nicht gleich nach einer Woche verschwunden sind muss Aufsicht geführt werden, auch hier werden noch Ehrenamtliche gesucht. Jedes Kind bekommt zu Weihnachten einen Schuhkarton mit Spielsachen, damit sie auch etwas besitzen wenn die Aufsicht nicht da ist 😦 Zum Glück befindet sich in 10 Minuten Fußweg ein großer Spielplatz wo die Kinder auch mal toben können wenn keine deutsche Aufsicht zur Verfügung steht. Denn, Flüchtlinge dürfen auch nicht ehrenamtlich arbeiten. D.h. sie dürfen theoretisch nicht mal mithelfen Ihre Möbel aufzubauen oder sich selbst verwalten.
Praktisch gesehen helfen sie dennoch mit. Ich habe mit einem sehr liebswerten jungen Mann Möbel aufgebaut, der seit 2 Monaten in Deutschland ist und mit seiner Familie morgen hier einziehen will. Er versteht schon sehr viel Deutsch, nur mit der Formulierung von Sätzen hapert es noch. Er hat mir voll Stolz sein neues Zimmer (noch nicht eingerichtet) gezeigt in dem er ab morgen mit seiner Mutter und seinen beiden Schwestern wohnen wird. Die Namen hängen an der Tür. Ich habe nicht gefragt was mit seinem Vater ist ……

Irgendwann schmerzen mir die Fingern vom drehen des Inbusschlüssels und ich hoffe, dass die anderen Fleissigen noch ein bisschen länger durchhalten wie ich…. ❤

Zu Hause veröffentliche ich auf Facebook in einer Gruppe mit lauter Mitbürgern aus meinem Städtchen einen freundlichen Aufruf, dass noch dringend weitere helfende Hände mit Werkzeug gesucht werden um das restliche Mobiliar bis morgen Mittag aufzubauen. Was danach kommt beschäftigt mich die ganze Nacht…….
Zunächst meldet sich eine Frau die verspricht ihren Mann am nächsten Morgen vorbeizuschicken, Klasse! 🙂
Danach beginnen die Wut-Kommentare. Kommentare wie „die können ihren Mist doch selbst aufbauen“ oder „nach Frau Merkel sind das doch alles Facharbeiter, warum machen die das nicht selbst„, Sätze wie „es ist schließlich Weihnachten, ich brauche die Feiertage für meine Familie“ oder „ich muss arbeiten und zahle Steuern“ sind noch harmlos. „Bei uns gab es nach dem Krieg ja auch nichts und wir mussten selber sehen wie wir klarkommen“ war auch noch verständlich, dazwischen werde ich als Gutmensch beschimpft und dass mann von solchen Menschen wie mir jetzt wirklich die Nase voll hätte.
Dieser Mensch hat nicht wirklich verstanden was hinter dem Gedanken von Weihnachten steht: „Diesen Menschen auch noch helfen???!!! Sorry aber ich bin da raus. Früher habe ich CDU gewählt um meinen Eltern gleich zutun, heute denke ich über AfD oder einen Rechtsruck a la frant national und denke letztes zu wählen. Deutschland schafft sich ab und da werde ich nicht auch noch aktiv mit dran rum schrauben. Frohe Weihnachten solange wir das noch feiern dürfen.“ 😦
Dann gibt es diejenigen die sich gegen die zunehmenden Hasskommentare aussprechen und um Mäßigung bitten, sie bekommen dann wieder entsprechende Kommentare der Gegenspieler…… Das Ganze setzt sich bis Mitternacht fort. Ich bin völlig entsetzt wie die Menschen auf einen simplen Aufruf nach Unterstützung reagieren, das Thema ist emotional so verrant, dass man das Helfen von Menschen, die sich engagieren wollen, offensichtlich nicht mehr einfach tolerieren kann. Denn darum geht es hier schließlich, wer aus welchem Grund auch immer nicht helfen will sollte es wenigstens tolerieren, wenn andere dies tun 😦

22. Dezember 2015
Mit gemischten Gefühlen fahre ich los. Gestern Abend kam noch eine email, dass ca. 50 Menschen mehr kommen. Die Notunterkunft muss frei werden. Es ist völlig unsicher ob alle Familien die eigentlich geplant waren noch kommen können……
Bis gestern Nacht haben sich die Ehrenamtler von der Caritas noch versucht auf die neuen Gegebenheiten einzustellen. Sie sind fast rund um die Uhr im Einsatz, unglaublich!

Eine große Firma, die hier ansässig ist, hat (laut Rheinische Post) facebook gelesen und Mitarbeiter geschickt. Die sind gut drauf und wir bauen wieder Tische und Stühle auf. Im Keller haben sich einige Männer eingerichtet und bauen ein Etagenbett nach dem nächsten auf, Fliessbandproduktion für einen guten Zweck 🙂
Um 11 Uhr kommt der erste Bus. Ganz viele Familien mit Kindern steigen aus. Die Kinder schauen vorsichtig, fragend oder lachen uns an. Sie freuen sich auf ihr neues Heim. Es sind ganz kleine dabei, ein 3 Wochen altes Baby wird nachher noch kommen. Die Familie lebte in einem der Großraumbüros mit 16 Menschen pro Zimmer. Hier wird die junge Frau mit ihrem Baby Privatsphäre haben 🙂
Ein LKW kommt. Er beherbergt die Habseligkeiten der Menschen (je Familie einen großen blauen Müllsack) und die Matratzen und Bettwäsche, die sie in der anderen Unterkunft schon erhalten haben. Sofort bildet sich eine Menschenkette der Männer um die Sachen auszuladen. Danach schleppen alle die Habseligkeiten in die Zimmer die ihnen zugewiesen werden. Wir stehen da, schauen zu und freuen uns über die glücklichen Gesichter der Kinder. Viele geben uns die Hand, sagen Hallo!

Später gehe ich nach unten in das Kinderspielzimmer wo Bilder gemalt werden. An den Toiletten steht zwar ‚Damen‘ und ‚Herren‘, aber viele können das nicht lesen oder verstehen. So gab es schon Ärger wenn sich Damen und Herren im WC begegnet sind. Die Kinder malen Schilder mit Männlein und Weiblein und auf Arabisch kommt noch ein Zusatz drauf. Wir bekleben die Türen in Begleitung der Kinder, die gemalt haben….

Den dritten Bus warte ich nicht ab. Ich bin froh, dass tatsächlich so viele Familien gekommen sind. Die Frage ist noch zu klären wer mit den Menschen einkaufen geht. Sie müssen sich spätestens bis morgen/übermorgen für die Feiertage mit Nahrungsmitteln eingedeckt haben. Hier leben nur Selbstversorger. Ich habe mich zur Verfügung gestellt ggf. morgen mit einem Teil bei einem großen Discounter einkaufen zu gehen. Wenn alle 160 Menschen auf einmal losziehen kann man den Supermarkt schließen!

Jetzt muss ich erstmal eine Runde durch den Wald rennen um das irgendwie verarbeiten zu können….

23. Dezember 2014
Nach einem kurzen Rundflug über den Markt bin ich wieder vor Ort. Heute sind weniger Mitstreiter gekommen um „Orientierungshilfe“ zu leisten oder Betten aufzubauen, noch weitere 50 Flüchtlinge sollen heute eintreffen. Der Hausmeister ist kurz vor dem Nervenzusammenbruch. Das warme Wasser geht nicht. Die elektrischen Leitungen in manchen Zimmern funktionieren nicht wirklich. Zum Glück hat auch er ganz viele fleißige Helfer die ihm zur Seite stehen, ich weiss nicht ob es Männer von der Stadt oder von der Caritas sind. Wahrscheinlich Stadt. Aber so kurz vor Weihnachten ist es schwierig die richtigen Ansprechpartner zu bekommen. Ein LKW fährt zum größten Supermarkt der Stadt und macht Einkäufe ohne Ende denn…..
Es gibt keine Mülleimer im Haus, in den Zimmern nicht, in der Küche nicht, in den Waschräumen nicht. Ich bin erstaunt, dass sich der Müll nirgends stapelt, offensichtlich tragen die Leute alles einzeln raus, in die großen Sammelmülleimer. Die Liste des Hausmeisters mit den noch zu organisierenden Dingen wächst und wächst 😦
Eine Grundreinigung gab es vor dem Einzug nicht. Der Zustand der Waschräume ist katastrophal. Die Menschen sollen sich selbst organisieren und sauber machen. Sie sprechen völlig unterschiedliche Sprachen, nur wenige – hauptsächlich Kinder und Jugendliche sprechen Englisch und Deutsch. Wie sollen sie das organisieren? Wenn man keine Reinigungsgeräte hat klappt das auch nicht wirklich, auch diese müssen sie sich erst kaufen. Einige wenige haben sich einen Wischmopp organisiert. Wenn man erst einmal einen Basiseinkauf mit allen Grundnahrungsmitteln, Hygieneartikeln etc. zu Fuss machen muss, kann man nicht auch noch Eimer und Wischmopp schleppen.
Hier muss dringend eine Reinigungsfirma her die für Grundsauberkeit sorgt bis die Menschen sich organisiert haben.
Später erfahre ich, dass die Stadt erst ab Montag Reinigungskräfte schicken wird.
Die Waschmaschinen laufen, eine funktioniert nicht, Trockner gibt es keine. Noch hängt die Wäsche draußen über dem Zaun aber heute nachmittag sollen 80 Trockner (keine elektrischen) kommen. Vorhänge für die Fenster gibt es auch keine, jeder kann von draußen hereinsehen, viele haben Tücher vor die Fenster gehängt……

Wir gehen durch die Flure und nehmen Daten auf. Die wenigsten Eltern können Deutsch oder Englisch, aber die Kinder übersetzen gerne. Wir haben sogar schon Jugendliche die hier zur Schule oder aufs Berufscolleg gehen. Sie kommen wahrscheinlich? aus den Großraumbüros und sie übersetzen  gerne :-). Die Kinder zeigen mir ihre wenigen Schätze, einen kleinen Geldbeutel mit einer Eule drauf, ein kleines Mädchen schenkt uns freudestrahlend ein Bonbon. So wenig wie sie haben, sie teilen gerne. Die Kinder nehmen meine Hand, umarmen mich, manchmal überwältigt mich dieses Vertrauen und ich muss mich ganz schön  zusammenreißen.
Wir gehen ganz langsam von Zimmer zu Zimmer und nehmen Daten auf…. Wer hat einen Ausweis, wo kommen sie her, wer spricht welche Sprache, wer eine Buskarte, wer hat welche Ausbildung, wie alt sind die Kinder? Es wird viele Schul- und Kindergartenkinder geben. Man hat mir schon gesagt, die Kindergärten sind voll, die Kinder werden nicht in die Kindergärten gehen können. Zum Glück ist Schulpflicht. Hier im Haus langweilen sie sich zu Tode. Wir werden eine Kinderbetreuung im Hause organisieren müssen. Vielleicht finden wir unter den Müttern ja Lehrerinnen oder Erzieherinnen die das dauerhaft in Eigenregie übernehmen können.

Das Spielzimmer der Kinder ist geschlossen, da es keine Aufsicht gibt. Wir wollen mit den Kindern auf den Spielplatz gehen. Meine Hoffnung ist, wenn sie wissen wo sie hingehen können, werden sie bei schönem Wetter demnächst allein oder mit ihren Eltern auf den Spielplatz gehen. Es gibt keine Fussbälle für den Innenhof, nichts zu malen. Morgen werde ich 2 Bälle kaufen, Papier und Stifte, auf eigene Kosten. Natürlich sind die Sachen nachher in den Zimmern verschwunden, was solls 🙂  für die Bälle suche ich mir einen Erwachsenen der das Fussballspielen organisieren soll.
Wir suchen 2 Erwachsene die uns begleiten können und die richtige Sprache sprechen. Ratz fatz haben wir 20 Kinder die unbedingt mitkommen wollen aber keine Eltern, die meisten sind einkaufen. Die kids schicken wir erstmal zurück, sie haben flip flops, Sandalen an und die meisten sind barfuss. Kein Wunder, dass viele hier husten. Es dauert bis alle angezogen sind und bis wir schließlich ein Elternpaar gefunden haben das uns begleitet. Der Mann kann ganz gut Deutsch- gott sei Dank! Ihm werde ich morgen die Bälle anvertrauen……
Während wir warten werde ich immer wieder angesprochen wo und wann der Deutschunterricht stattfindet. Alle Syrer dürfen direkt zur VHS gehen und bekommen dort ‚offizielle‘ Kurse. Für alle anderen wird es demnächst im Hause ‚freiwilligen‘ Deutschunterricht der Ehrernamtlichen geben. Auch ich habe mich schon gemeldet, das dürfte ich noch hinbekommen. Der junge Mann vor mir ist enttäuscht. Wie kein Deutschunterricht heute? Er möchte anfangen! Ich frage ihn (auf englisch) ob er Syrer ist. Ja, ist er, aber bis nach Neujahr will er nicht warten. Zum Glück wollen die Ehrenamtler nächste Woche beginnen, bis dahin muss er noch warten. Die jungen Leute wollen lernen und das möglichst schnell. Sie wollen hier raus und eine Ausbildung oder Arbeit beginnen.

Die Kinder folgen mir begeistert zum Spielplatz und toben sich aus. Alle wollen auf einmal auf die Vogelschaukel, chaos pur, es ist sehr laut, die armen Nachbarn! Aber ich kann die Kinder verstehen, sie kommen seit Tagen zum ersten Mal an die Luft. Die Jungs raufen und schaukeln wie die Wilden. Zum Glück hat der Vater der uns begleitet, sie im Griff. Er meint ich könne nach Hause gehen, er findet den Rückweg allein. Darüber bin ich heilfroh, denn ich bin fix und fertig…..

Mein Fazit für heute: Wir Deutschen waren vielleicht einmal Organisationsweltmeister und berühmt-berüchtigt für unsere Struktur. Das war einmal, heute verwalten wir das Chaos, das wir selbst verschuldet haben. Die Familien sollten bereits Anfang Dezember einziehen. Es wäre genug Zeit gewesen Bedarfslisten zu erstellen. Hier wird am falschen Ende gespart, denn wenn die Flüchtlinge diese Dinge selbst bezahlen müssen entfallen die Kosten für die Stadt. Dass Mülleimer, -säcke und Putzmittel aber vom ersten Tag an benötigt werden kann nicht erst auffallen wenn die Menschen da sind 😦

24. Dezember 2014
Die Kommentare auf facebook gehen weiter, ich selbst kommentiere  schon lange nicht mehr.
Leider habe ich es heute morgen nicht mehr in die Stadt geschafft um einen Ball zu besorgen, Weihnachten ist auch bei uns plötzlich ein Thema. Der Nachtisch ist vorzubereiten und das ein oder andere Geschenk möchte in der Nachbarschaft noch verteilt werden. Ich habe einen Aufruf bei den Ehrenamtlichen gestartet, vielleicht hat ja jemand noch einen Fussball den er dort vorbei bringen kann…… Schade!
Spätestens nächste Woche haben sie einen 🙂

Wären Maria und Joseph heute unterwegs gewesen, wären sie in der NotUnterKunft gelandet, in einer Turnhalle oder einem Großraumbüro mit 16 Personen pro Raum…..
Gut, dass sie einen warmen und gemütlichen Stall gefunden haben, mit freundlichen Menschen und Königen die ihnen Geschenke gebracht haben ❤

Dies sind meine ganz persönlichen und sehr subjektiven Erfahrungen der letzten Tage. Kann sein, dass ich einiges falsch verstanden habe, die Strukturen des Ablaufs, der Vorplanungen sind mir unbekannt, ich bin nur ein winzig kleines Rädchen im Getriebe der Ehrenamtlichen. Wahrscheinlich täusche ich mich ja und alles war hervorragend vorbereitet und mit den örtlichen Gegebenheiten einfach nur nicht umzusetzen.
Eines ist mir allerdings klar, ohne die vielen Ehrenamtlichen wäre diese Herkulesaufgabe nicht zu stemmen. Und unsere Politiker gehen ganz selbstverständlich davon aus, dass die Menschen vor Ort umsetzen was sie in ihrem Glaspalast beschlossen haben 😦
Was bleibt für mich: Es gibt noch ganz viel zu tun…. 😎

Und wer jetzt vielleicht noch etwas spenden möchte, vielleicht Spielsachen im Keller hat die sowieso nicht mehr benötigt werden, Bilderbücher, Memories – erkundigt Euch einfach bei der Caritas (oder der Diakonie) wo man die Spenden abgeben kann, sie werden in die Heime weiter geleitet und auf jeden Fall benötigt!

🙂

Last week, 3 days before Christmas
21. Dezember 2015
Tomorrow, in our peaceful neighborhood, refugees will move into an old office building. There are supposed to be about 160 people, families with children who have been living up until now in bit office rooms with up to 16 people, or in gymansiums. Some of them have been in our area for a few months already, some only a little while. The goal is to give families with a children a closed off living space, where they can have a little privacy.
These news have been making the circuit here for a while now and since I’m still looking for a job right now and have some time, I sign up as a volunteer to help somehow.
After the transfer of the house to the city kept on being delayed, they were supposed to move in on December 6 originally, since the widereaching sanitry and cooking installations weren’t finished, the house was taken over by the city. Today! Tomorrow the families are supposed to move in.
This means that today we could start to clean and furnish the rooms. Volunteers were sought and so I was there this morning at 9 with a friend to offer my help. 160 bunkbed need to be assembled, one refrigerator per room needs to be unpacked, a steel locker, 4 chairs and a table need to be screwed together – for room. And with that the rather small rooms (15 or 20 to 25 square meters) are also full. It is an impossible task with the handful of people who are here.
The new furniture is of questionable quality; IKEA would be luxury in comparison. 😦
On some of the stools we couldn’t install the upholstering because the drilled holes didn’t fit. Some of the tabletops are already damaged when we unpack them. “They were in storage somewhere” is the information as I ask carefully where they come from. Later, happily, sturdier tables and chairs arrive that don’t have to be assembled. ☺
In the shared kitchen – on each floor with 100 people there are three kitchens – there are four electric ranges and 4 sinks. Nothing else. When I asked where the people are supposed to keep their dishes, I got the answer: in their rooms on the floor. In the one locker, that stands in the room and is intended for valuables, there’s no more room. There is no closet for clothing.
The two communal tables with two benches each that we assembled for the kitchen are made of particle board with a veneer. The table top doesn’t fit on the dowels here, either. The little bottles with lime have exploded on us when squeezed them. My personal impression is that my children would turn these tables and chairs into kindling after four weeks – that’s what they actually are. There are supposed to be bigger kitchen workplaces – their feet are here, but the worktops can’t be found 😦
There will be a play room where the children can play while supervised. With supervision, it’s clear, because children who have NOTHING will take the toys with them. So that all the toys don’t disappear again in a week, someone will have to supervised, and volunteers are being sought for this. Each child is getting a shoe box with toys in it for Christmas, so that they have something to do when there’s no supervision. ☹ Luckily there is a playground within ten minutes walk, where the children can run around when there’s no supervision available from Germans. Because – refugees are not allowed to serve as volunteers; that means they aren’t even allowed to help assemble their own furniture or administer themselves.
In practice, however, they do help out. I assembled furniture with a very polite young man who has been in Germany for two months and will move in here tomorrow with his family. He already understands a lot of German, he only stumbles a little when he puts sentences together. He proudly showed me his new room (not yet furnished), which he will live in with his mother and his two sisters as of tomorrow. The names are on the door. I did not ask what was up with his father. ……
At some point my fingers start to hurt from turning the allenwrench and I hope that the other busy people hold out a little longer than me. …. 

At home, in a FB group with fellow citizens of my town, I publish a friendly call to say that there’s a pressing need for further helping hands with tools to assemble the rest of the furniture by noon tomorrow. What comes after occupies me the whole night. …….
First, a woman answers who promises to send her husband by the next morning. Great! 🙂
After that begin the rage-filled comments. Comments like: “They can assemble their own crap,” or “according to Ms. Merkel they are all skilled wokrers, why don’t they do it themselves,” phrases like, “it’s Christmas after all, I need the holidays for my family,” or “I have to work and pay taxes,” seem harmless. “After the war we didn’t have anything either and we had to take care of ourselves” was also understandable; in between I’m called out as a “Dogooder” and told that people have really had enough of people like me.
This person really didn’t understand what’s behind the idea of Christmas: “Help these people, too???!!! Sorry, I’m out of it. I used to vote CDU in order to follow my parents, but now I am thinking about AfD or a turn right like the National Front [these are all far-Right political groups – Serv] and I think I’m going to vote for the latter. Germany is destroying itself and I am not going to screw the screws in that project. Merry Christmas, as long as we are still allowed to celebrate it.😦

Then there are those who speak against the increasing number of hate-filled comments and ask for moderation, and they get corresponding comments from their opponents…. The whole thing goes on till midnight. I am appalled by how people are reacting to a simple call for help, the topic is so emotionally that people can’t even tolerate the help of those who want to be engaged any more. Because that’s what this is about – because people who won’t help for whatever reason should at least tolerate it when others do 😦
22. Dezember 2015

I leave home for the shelter with mixed feelings. There was an email last night that about 50 more people are coming. The emergency shelter must be open. It is completely unclear whether all the families that were actually foreseen are still able to come ……
Until last night, the Caritas volunteers were still trying to get ready for the new requirements. They work almost around the clock, unbelievable!
A big firm that’s located here has (according to the Rheinische Post) read Facebook and sent some of its employees. They are in a good mood and we assemble tables and chairs again. Some men have set up in the basement and build one bunkbed after another, assembly line production for a good cause 🙂
The first bus comes at 11. Many families with children get out. The children look carefully, questioningly, or smile at us. They are happy about their new home. There are very small ones with them, a three week old baby will join them later. The family lived in one of the big office spaces with 16 people per room. Here the young woman will have some privacy with her baby. 🙂

A truck comes. It contains the people’s possessions (one big blue trash bag per family) and the mattresses and bed clothes, which they already received in a previous lodging. Immediately, a chain of men comes together to unload the things. After that they take their things into the rooms that they were assigned to. We stand there, watch, and are happy about the happy faces of the children. Many of them shake our hands, say Hello!
Later I go downstairs into the playroom, where pictures are being painted. The toilets are labeled with “Ladies” and “Gentlemen” but many of them can’t read or understand them. There was already a little aggravation when men and women ran into each other in the bathroom. The children are painting signs with men and women on them and an Arabic label is added. We post the signs on the doors, accompanied by the children who painted them ….
I don’t wait for the third bus. I am happy that so many families have come. We still have to figure out who will go shopping with these people. They have to take care of their food needs by tomorrow or the day after at the latest due to the holidays [all grocery stores in Germany close for Christmas – Serv]. People who live her take care of themselves [not sure exactly what that means – Serv.] I have made myself available to go shoping with some of them at a big discount store. If all 160 of them set out at the same time, we can close the supermarket.
Now I have to run through the woods in order to process all of this somehow ….
23. Dezember 2015

After a little jaunt via the market, I’m at the residence again. Fewer people have come today to often “orientation help” or to build beds, but 50 more refugees are supposed to arrive today. The building supervisor is about to have a nervous breakdown. The warm water isn’t working. The electric outlets in some of the rooms don’t really work. Luckily he has a lot of very industrious helpers to assist him, I don’t know if it’s men from Caritas or from the city. Probably the city. But right before Christmas it’s hard to speak to the right people. A truck drives to the biggest supermarket and makes all kinds of purchases at that point, because ….
There are no trash cans in the house, not in the rooms, not in the kitchen, not in the bathrooms. I am astounded that the trash isn’t gathering in heaps, apparently the people are carrying everything outside into the dumpster. The building supervisor’s list of things that have to be organized grows and grows 😦

There wasn’t a general cleaning before the move-in. The condition of the bathrooms is catastrophic. The people should organize themselves and clean. They speak completely different languages – only a few, mainly children and teens, speak English and German. How should they organize that? If there aren’t any cleaning supplies, it won’t really work, these have to be purchased as well. A few of them have found damp mops. But since they have to do their basic shopping (food, hygiene articles, etc.) on foot, they can’t carry a mop and a bucket with them too.
It’s pressing that a cleaning company come here to ensure basic cleanliness until the people have gotten this organized.
Later I learn that the city will send cleaners beginning Monday.

The washing machine runs, one doesn’t work. There aren’t any dryers. The washing is hangout outside on the fence, although this afternoon 80 dryers (not electric) are supposed to arrive. There aren’t any curtains for the windows either, anyone can see in, many have put towels on the windows ……
We go through the floors and take information. Very few parents can speak German or English, but the children are happy to translate. There are even some teens here who are going to school or vocational school. They probably come from the big office residences and they are happy to translate. 🙂. Children show me their few treasures, a small purse with an owl on it, a little girl gives us a piece of candy, grinning from ear to ear. As little as they have, they are happy to share it. The children take my hand, hug me, sometimes this level of trust overwhelms me and I have to pull myself together.

We go slowly from room to room and take down information …. Who has identification, where are you from, who speaks which language, who has bus tickets, who has studied what topics, how old are the children? There will be a lot of school and kindergarten-aged children. I’ve already been told that the kindergartens are full and these children will not be able to attend them. Luckily, school is required. Here in the house they will be bored to death. We will have to organize some kind of child care in the house. Maybe there are day care workers or teachers among the mothers here who can organize that themselves.
The children’s playroom is closed, as there is no supervision. We want to take the children to the playground. I hope that when they know where to go, they will go to the playground by themselves or with their parents when the weather is good. There are no footballs for the courtyard of the residence, nothing to draw with. Tomorrow I will buy two balls, paper and pencils, out of my own money. Of course, these things will disappear into individual rooms afterwards, who cares. For the balls I’ll find a parent who can organize the football games.
We look for two grownups who can accompany us and speak the right language. We immediately find 20 children who want to go along but no parents; most of them are shopping. We send the kids back at first; most of them have flip flops or sandals or are barefoot. No wonder that so many of them are coughing. It takes a while until all of them are dressed and until we find a parental couple who will go along. The man speaks German well – thank G-d. Tomorrow, I’ll entrust the balls to him. ……

While we are waiting, I keep getting asked where and when the German classes will take place. All Syrians are allowed to go directly to the VHS [something like a community college] and get “official” courses there. For everyone else, there will be “voluntary” German classes given by volunteers. I’ve volunteered to do that, too, I can probably figure it out. The young man with me is disappointed. Why not German classes today? He wants to begin! I ask him (in English) if he is a Syrian. Yes, he is, but he doesn’t want to wait until the New Year. Luckily the volunteers want to begin next week, but he has to wait until then. The young people want to learn, and as soon as possible. They want to get out of here and start an apprenticeship or a job.

The children follow me to the playground, excitedly, and run around. They all want to go on the swing at the same time, pure chaos, it is very loud, the por neighbors! But I can understand the children, this is the first time they have been outside in days. The boys tussle and shake like wild animals. Luckily the father who has accompanied us has them under control. He tells me I could go home, he knows how to get back. I’m really happy about that, because I am exhausted. …..

The summary for today: We Germans were perhaps world champions in organization and famous or notorious for our structure. That was once upon a time, nowadays we are administering the chaos that we caused ourselves. The families were supposed to move in already at the beginning of December. There would have been enough time to assemble lists of things they needed. We are economizing in the wrong place, because if the refugees pay for these things themselves the city doesn’t pay. That trash cans, garbage sacks and cleaning supplies are necessary from the very day can’t just be noticed when the people arrive. 😦

24. Dezember 2014
The facebook commentaries continue, for myself I haven’t left a comment in a long time.
Unfortunately I didn’t make it into the city to get a ball this morning. Christmas is important to us, too. I still need to make a dessert and give a few gifts to our neighbors. I put out a call among the volunteers, maybe someone already has a football that he can bring over there. Too bad. They’ll have one next week at the latest. 🙂
If Mary and Joseph were underway nowadays, they would have ended up in an emergency shelter, in a gymnasium or a big office space with 16 people per room …..
Good that they found a warm, friendly manger with friendly people who brought them gifts

These are my very personal and very subjective experiences of the last few days. It could be that I have understood some things incorrectly, the structure of what happened, the planning is unknown to me, I am only a very small wheel in the machinery of the volunteers. I’m probably mistaken and everything was prepared very well and simply couldn’t be realized with the conditions in our area.
One thing is clear to me, though, without the volunteers this labor of Hercules would not be manageable. And our politicians naturally assume that the people in the local communities will realize what they have decided in their glass palaces. 😦
What remains for me: there’s still a lot to do. 😎
And for those who would like to make a donation, maybe has toys in the basement that no one needs anyway, picture books – get in touch with Caritas or the Diakonie about where the donations can be dropped off, they will be sent to the shelters and definitely used!

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Aktionen, Flüchtlinge abgelegt und mit , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

31 Antworten zu Flüchtlingshilfe konkret – concrete refugee aid

  1. Myriade schreibt:

    Danke für den interessanten Bericht !

    Gefällt 1 Person

  2. Solche Bericht sind gut und wichtig, DANKE dafür.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  3. Servetus schreibt:

    Wow. Ich bin auch überrascht, wie das so zugeht. Ich bin froh, daß Du da bist.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  4. schnipseltippse schreibt:

    Ignorier die Hasskommentare.
    Ich frage mich immer, wie tot man innerlich sein muss, um solche Sachen zu sagen.
    Toll, dass du dich so engagierst.
    Ich kenne dich zwar nicht und das ist der erste Beitrag, den ich von dir lese, aber würdest du mir gegenüber stehen, würde ich dich jetzt mal ganz fest drücken. Danke!!!

    Gefällt 2 Personen

    • suzy schreibt:

      Erstmal herzlich willkommen auf meinem Blog! Freut mich, dass Du hergefunden hast.
      Das Ignorieren ist nicht ganz so einfach, v.a. da ich mit sowas überhaupt nicht in der Form und mit dem Umfang gerechnet hatte. Das verdrängt man nicht so einfach. Mein Fazit, ich werde bei Facebook nie wieder um Hilfe bitten und bin doch erschreckt wie stark polarisiert das Thema ist 😦
      Ganz lieben Dank fürs Drücken. ❤

      Gefällt 1 Person

      • schnipseltippse schreibt:

        Das kann ich verstehen. Ist aber auch krass. Ich hatte auch schon per FB aufgerufen, gebrauchte Kleidung bei mir abzugeben, und da kam GsD nur positive Resonanz. Andere Reaktionen hätten mich vermutlich auch fertig gemacht. Ich lese zB gar keine Kommentare mehr zu Artikeln, die sich mit gewissen Themen befassen, bei denen klar ist, dass es zu solchen Diskussionen kommt.

        Gefällt 1 Person

  5. entdeckeengland schreibt:

    Ich finde es bewundernswert, dass Du Dich so engagierst. Wir sind in den letzten Tagen quer durch Deutschland gereist und haben Freunde und Verwandte besucht. Ich habe dort leider ähnliche Geschichten gehört. Vieles scheint noch nicht zu Ende gedacht. Ich drücke Euch die Daumen, dass bald alles in geregelte Bahnen kommt.

    Gefällt 1 Person

    • suzy schreibt:

      Zu Ende gedacht hört sich schon so positiv an. Ich befürchte, dass es immer noch kein generelles Konzept, keinen Plan und schon gar keine organisierte Umsetzung vor Ort gibt…… 😦

      Gefällt mir

  6. Esther schreibt:

    Ich finde es wirklich toll, dass Du das so gemacht hast und machst!! Wow! Die Facebook-Kommentare – ich wäre da auch fassungslos… ignoriere diese Menschen, sie sind die Aufmerksamkeit nicht wert. Was ist denn so schlimm daran, um sein Herz zu öffnen und Menschlichkeit zu zeigen? Hut ab vor Dir! Gut gemacht!

    Gefällt 2 Personen

    • suzy schreibt:

      Danke Esther, wie gesagt, ich bin nur ein kleines Rädchen. Aber ich mache mir gerne ein eigenes Bild und bin offensichtlich hängen geblieben 🙂
      Und wenn ich wieder zu Hause bin geht es weiter! Liebe Grüße ❤

      Gefällt 1 Person

  7. kowkla123 schreibt:

    danke für den Einblick, wünsche schon jetzt einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr 2016

    Gefällt 1 Person

  8. Lis schreibt:

    wünsche Dir ein glückliches neues Jahr

    Gefällt 1 Person

  9. Herba schreibt:

    Hut ab vor Deinem Engagement!!!!
    Und danke für Deinen Bericht, der mich berührt aber auch schockiert hat

    Gefällt 2 Personen

  10. dougstuber schreibt:

    To Be Human
    is to fall in love over and over,
    to never give up on any of them,
    to cry for the inhumanity, and try to
    overcome all that surrounds us by creating
    a closeness with those in proximity, both
    geographical and philosophical. It is to
    carry those loves in our heart, flooding our
    minds no matter how gone they are. And
    to put others’ needs first, understand their
    flaws, work on our own so we can be
    better helpers. It is to take it all in and
    follow our dreams no matter how preposterous;
    to pull apart another brown paper bag and
    to write it all out, no matter how choppy.
    So take my hand and make it all better
    before I repeat the painful parts until
    I can no longer act. To struggle past
    obstructions and obligations, self-imposed and
    expected; to wallow in joy, build strength and
    change what we can for the better. To give.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  11. Pingback: Fellow Richard Armitage fan has written about volunteering in refugee shelters | Me + Richard Armitage

  12. Servetus schreibt:

    Hi, Suzy, I’ve translated this and put it into a comment. If you don’t want it here, please delete.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  13. Servetus schreibt:

    Last week, 3 days before Christmas
    21. Dezember 2015
    Tomorrow, in our peaceful neighborhood, refugees will move into an old office building. There are supposed to be about 160 people, families with children who have been living up until now in bit office rooms with up to 16 people, or in gymansiums. Some of them have been in our area for a few months already, some only a little while. The goal is to give families with a children a closed off living space, where they can have a little privacy.
    These news have been making the circuit here for a while now and since I’m still looking for a job right now and have some time, I sign up as a volunteer to help somehow.
    After the transfer of the house to the city kept on being delayed, they were supposed to move in on December 6 originally, since the widereaching sanitry and cooking installations weren’t finished, the house was taken over by the city. Today! Tomorrow the families are supposed to move in.
    This means that today we could start to clean and furnish the rooms. Volunteers were sought and so I was there this morning at 9 with a friend to offer my help. 160 bunkbed need to be assembled, one refrigerator per room needs to be unpacked, a steel locker, 4 chairs and a table need to be screwed together – for room. And with that the rather small rooms (15 or 20 to 25 square meters) are also full. It is an impossible task with the handful of people who are here.
    The new furniture is of questionable quality; IKEA would be luxury in comparison. ☹
    On some of the stools we couldn’t install the upholstering because the drilled holes didn’t fit. Some of the tabletops are already damaged when we unpack them. “They were in storage somewhere” is the information as I ask carefully where they come from. Later, happily, sturdier tables and chairs arrive that don’t have to be assembled. ☺
    In the shared kitchen – on each floor with 100 people there are three kitchens – there are four electric ranges and 4 sinks. Nothing else. When I asked where the people are supposed to keep their dishes, I got the answer: in their rooms on the floor. In the one locker, that stands in the room and is intended for valuables, there’s no more room. There is no closet for clothing.
    The two communal tables with two benches each that we assembled for the kitchen are made of particle board with a veneer. The table top doesn’t fit on the dowels here, either. The little bottles with lime have exploded on us when squeezed them. My personal impression is that my children would turn these tables and chairs into kindling after four weeks – that’s what they actually are. There are supposed to be bigger kitchen workplaces – their feet are here, but the worktops can’t be found ☹
    There will be a play room where the children can play while supervised. With supervision, it’s clear, because children who have NOTHING will take the toys with them. So that all the toys don’t disappear again in a week, someone will have to supervised, and volunteers are being sought for this. Each child is getting a shoe box with toys in it for Christmas, so that they have something to do when there’s no supervision. ☹ Luckily there is a playground within ten minutes walk, where the children can run around when there’s no supervision available from Germans. Because – refugees are not allowed to serve as volunteers; that means they aren’t even allowed to help assemble their own furniture or administer themselves.
    In practice, however, they do help out. I assembled furniture with a very polite young man who has been in Germany for two months and will move in here tomorrow with his family. He already understands a lot of German, he only stumbles a little when he puts sentences together. He proudly showed me his new room (not yet furnished), which he will live in with his mother and his two sisters as of tomorrow. The names are on the door. I did not ask what was up with his father. ……
    At some point my fingers start to hurt from turning the allenwrench and I hope that the other busy people hold out a little longer than me. …. ❤
    At home, in a FB group with fellow citizens of my town, I publish a friendly call to say that there’s a pressing need for further helping hands with tools to assemble the rest of the furniture by noon tomorrow. What comes after occupies me the whole night. …….
    First, a woman answers who promises to send her husband by the next morning. Great! 🙂
    After that begin the rage-filled comments. Comments like: “They can assemble their own crap,” or “according to Ms. Merkel they are all skilled wokrers, why don’t they do it themselves,” phrases like, “it’s Christmas after all, I need the holidays for my family,” or “I have to work and pay taxes,” seem harmless. “After the war we didn’t have anything either and we had to take care of ourselves” was also understandable; in between I’m called out as a “Dogooder” and told that people have really had enough of people like me.
    This person really didn’t understand what’s behind the idea of Christmas: “Help these people, too???!!! Sorry, I’m out of it. I used to vote CDU in order to follow my parents, but now I am thinking about AfD or a turn right like the National Front [these are all far-Right political groups – Serv] and I think I’m going to vote for the latter. Germany is destroying itself and I am not going to screw the screws in that project. Merry Christmas, as long as we are still allowed to celebrate it.” 😦

    Then there are those who speak against the increasing number of hate-filled comments and ask for moderation, and they get corresponding comments from their opponents…. The whole thing goes on till midnight. I am appalled by how people are reacting to a simple call for help, the topic is so emotionally [?] that people can’t even tolerate the help of those who want to be engaged any more. Because that’s what this is about – because people who won’t help for whatever reason should at least tolerate it when others do 😦
    22. Dezember 2015

    I leave home for the shelter with mixed feelings. There was an email last night that about 50 more people are coming. The emergency shelter must be open. It is completely unclear whether all the families that were actually foreseen are still able to come ……
    Until last night, the Caritas volunteers were still trying to get ready for the new requirements. They work almost around the clock, unbelievable!
    A big firm that’s located here has (according to the Rheinische Post) read Facebook and sent some of its employees. They are in a good mood and we assemble tables and chairs again. Some men have set up in the basement and build one bunkbed after another, assembly line production for a good cause 🙂
    The first bus comes at 11. Many families with children get out. The children look carefully, questioningly, or smile at us. They are happy about their new home. There are very small ones with them, a three week old baby will join them later. The family lived in one of the big office spaces with 16 people per room. Here the young woman will have some privacy with her baby. 🙂

    A truck comes. It contains the people’s possessions (one big blue trash bag per family) and the mattresses and bed clothes, which they already received in a previous lodging. Immediately, a chain of men comes together to unload the things. After that they take their things into the rooms that they were assigned to. We stand there, watch, and are happy about the happy faces of the children. Many of them shake our hands, say Hello!
    Later I go downstairs into the playroom, where pictures are being painted. The toilets are labeled with “Ladies” and “Gentlemen” but many of them can’t read or understand them. There was already a little aggravation when men and women ran into each other in the bathroom. The children are painting signs with men and women on them and an Arabic label is added. We post the signs on the doors, accompanied by the children who painted them ….
    I don’t wait for the third bus. I am happy that so many families have come. We still have to figure out who will go shopping with these people. They have to take care of their food needs by tomorrow or the day after at the latest due to the holidays [all grocery stores in Germany close for Christmas – Serv]. People who live her take care of themselves [not sure exactly what that means – Serv.] I have made myself available to go shoping with some of them at a big discount store. If all 160 of them set out at the same time, we can close the supermarket.
    Now I have to run through the woods in order to process all of this somehow ….
    23. Dezember 2015

    After a little jaunt via the market, I’m at the residence again. Fewer people have come today to often “orientation help” or to build beds, but 50 more refugees are supposed to arrive today. The building supervisor is about to have a nervous breakdown. The warm water isn’t working. The electric outlets in some of the rooms don’t really work. Luckily he has a lot of very industrious helpers to assist him, I don’t know if it’s men from Caritas or from the city. Probably the city. But right before Christmas it’s hard to speak to the right people. A truck drives to the biggest supermarket and makes all kinds of purchases at that point, because ….
    There are no trash cans in the house, not in the rooms, not in the kitchen, not in the bathrooms. I am astounded that the trash isn’t gathering in heaps, apparently the people are carrying everything outside into the dumpster. The building supervisor’s list of things that have to be organized grows and grows 😦

    There wasn’t a general cleaning before the move-in. The condition of the bathrooms is catastrophic. The people should organize themselves and clean. They speak completely different languages – only a few, mainly children and teens, speak English and German. How should they organize that? If there aren’t any cleaning supplies, it won’t really work, these have to be purchased as well. A few of them have found damp mops. But since they have to do their basic shopping (food, hygiene articles, etc.) on foot, they can’t carry a mop and a bucket with them too.
    It’s pressing that a cleaning company come here to ensure basic cleanliness until the people have gotten this organized.
    Later I learn that the city will send cleaners beginning Monday.

    The washing machine runs, one doesn’t work. There aren’t any dryers. The washing is hangout outside on the fence, although this afternoon 80 dryers (not electric) are supposed to arrive. There aren’t any curtains for the windows either, anyone can see in, many have put towels on the windows ……
    We go through the floors and take information. Very few parents can speak German or English, but the children are happy to translate. There are even some teens here who are going to school or vocational school. They probably come from the big office residences and they are happy to translate. :-). Children show me their few treasures, a small purse with an owl on it, a little girl gives us a piece of candy, grinning from ear to ear. As little as they have, they are happy to share it. The children take my hand, hug me, sometimes this level of trust overwhelms me and I have to pull myself together.

    We go slowly from room to room and take down information …. Who has identification, where are you from, who speaks which language, who has bus tickets, who has studied what topics, how old are the children? There will be a lot of school and kindergarten-aged children. I’ve already been told that the kindergartens are full and these children will not be able to attend them. Luckily, school is required. Here in the house they will be bored to death. We will have to organize some kind of child care in the house. Maybe there are day care workers or teachers among the mothers here who can organize that themselves.
    The children’s playroom is closed, as there is no supervision. We want to take the children to the playground. I hope that when they know where to go, they will go to the playground by themselves or with their parents when the weather is good. There are no footballs for the courtyard of the residence, nothing to draw with. Tomorrow I will buy two balls, paper and pencils, out of my own money. Of course, these things will disappear into individual rooms afterwards, who cares. For the balls I’ll find a parent who can organize the football games.
    We look for two grownups who can accompany us and speak the right language. We immediately find 20 children who want to go along but no parents; most of them are shopping. We send the kids back at first; most of them have flip flops or sandals or are barefoot. No wonder that so many of them are coughing. It takes a while until all of them are dressed and until we find a parental couple who will go along. The man speaks German well – thank G-d. Tomorrow, I’ll entrust the balls to him. ……

    While we are waiting, I keep getting asked where and when the German classes will take place. All Syrians are allowed to go directly to the VHS [something like a community college] and get “official” courses there. For everyone else, there will be “voluntary” German classes given by volunteers. I’ve volunteered to do that, too, I can probably figure it out. The young man with me is disappointed. Why not German classes today? He wants to begin! I ask him (in English) if he is a Syrian. Yes, he is, but he doesn’t want to wait until the New Year. Luckily the volunteers want to begin next week, but he has to wait until then. The young people want to learn, and as soon as possible. They want to get out of here and start an apprenticeship or a job.
    The children follow me to the playground, excitedly, and run around. They all want to go on the swing at the same time, pure chaos, it is very loud, the por neighbors! But I can understand the children, this is the first time they have been outside in days. The boys tussle and shake like wild animals. Luckily the father who has accompanied us has them under control. He tells me I could go home, he knows how to get back. I’m really happy about that, because I am exhausted. …..
    The summary for today: We Germans were perhaps world champions in organization and famous or notorious for our structure. That was once upon a time, nowadays we are administering the chaos that we caused ourselves. The families were supposed to move in already at the beginning of December. There would have been enough time to assemble lists of things they needed. We are economizing in the wrong place, because if the refugees pay for these things themselves the city doesn’t pay. That trash cans, garbage sacks and cleaning supplies are necessary from the very day can’t just be noticed when the people arrive. 😦
    24. Dezember 2014
    The facebook commentaries continue, for myself I haven’t left a comment in a long time.
    Unfortunately I didn’t make it into the city to get a ball this morning. Christmas is important to us, too. I still need to make a dessert and give a few gifts to our neighbors. I put out a call among the volunteers, maybe someone already has a football that he can bring over there. Too bad. They’ll have one next week at the latest. 🙂
    If Mary and Joseph were underway nowadays, they would have ended up in an emergency shelter, in a gymnasium or a big office space with 16 people per room …..
    Good that they found a warm, friendly manger with friendly people who brought them gifts ❤
    These are my very personal and very subjective experiences of the last few days. It could be that I have understood some things incorrectly, the structure of what happened, the planning is unknown to me, I am only a very small wheel in the machinery of the volunteers. I’m probably mistaken and everything was prepared very well and simply couldn’t be realized with the conditions in our area.
    One thing is clear to me, though, without the volunteers this labor of Hercules would not be manageable. And our politicians naturally assume that the people in the local communities will realize what they have decided in their glass palaces. 😦
    What remains for me: there’s still a lot to do.:cool:
    And for those who would like to make a donation, maybe has toys in the basement that no one needs anyway, picture books – get in touch with Caritas or the Diakonie about where the donations can be dropped off, they will be sent to the shelters and definitely used!

    Gefällt 1 Person

  14. Peter schreibt:

    Vielen Dank für die ehrenamtlich Unterstützung von Flüchtlingen. Hier wird noch viel zu wenig getan und leider kann ich mich da nicht ausnehmen.

    Gefällt 1 Person

    • suzy schreibt:

      Es braucht sich niemand bedanken. Meine Schüler machen das schon ganz intensiv und mir macht das einfach Riesenspaß. Ich gehe jedes Mal mit einem Lächeln nach Hause weil die Stunden immer ein Gewinn sind, für beide Seiten 🙂 Falls Du mal ein Stündchen Zeit hast, ein Heim, eine Unterkunft gibt es bestimmt auch bei Euch und Menschen die mit den Bewohnern Schach, Fußball spielen, joggen oder walken gehen, Deutschkurs geben oder die Kinder bespaßen werden immer gesucht. Einfach mal nachfragen….

      Gefällt 1 Person

  15. Pingback: Jahresrückblick | silverbluelining

Kommentar verfassen

